PDA

View Full Version : How does one create an Index?

Seraphim
August 27th, 2015, 03:20
My campaigns seem to get rather messy with all the npcs, items, etc. scattered about. How does one create an index like the D&D PHB has?

Pic for reference.
https://i.imgur.com/NdAUjl7.png

kylania
August 27th, 2015, 03:23
That's part of the "reference manual" section of the 5E ruleset. Par5e creates it for things like backgrounds and npcs automatically. There isn't really a user friendly method of doing that on your own though that I've found.

Nyghtmare
August 27th, 2015, 03:28
I have a Master NOTE or STORY that is nothing but a bunch of links to everything else, organized by topic.

For example, one section has all of the classes in it. Listed under each of them are the archetypes and spell lists. Each of these are linked to the appropriate page in the PHB and Elemental Evil module.

I do that for Races, backgrounds, and everything else that I could possibly use in a given campaign.

Mask_of_winter
August 27th, 2015, 03:32
You could make a mind map style image and then place pins (shortcuts) on it.

Seraphim
August 27th, 2015, 04:01
Is there a way to drag and drop attacks? I wanted things like multistrike, or other custom abilities in a simple drag and drop format to quickly create NPC's. However, it seems that FG is incapable of doing this. It's odd though because I can drag and drop skills and spells from the PHB, but can't create my own for drag and dropping?

Nyghtmares idea works for everything else though.

I can drag and drop "lesser restoration" (spell), and "stunning strike" (action), but i can't drag and drop my own custom skill "punishing disengage" I feel as if there is probably a way to add a flag for punishing disengage to be made into a skill, such as a reaction or an action.
https://i.imgur.com/V92QMRH.png

kylania
August 27th, 2015, 04:22