PDA

View Full Version : Exporting A Module... Why?

Elric
January 10th, 2005, 00:50
Feature: Campaigns can now be exported as modules. A module contains the story, personality and item entries, and images with drawings and masks not applied. To export a module, use the command:
/export [module file name] [description]
The file name can't contain spaces, and will be prepended with ".mod" if not specified. The description will be the text visible on the module selection sheet.
Maybe I got into the mindset of calling a module that I convert into FG a 'Campaign' since I started playing with FG, but why would you want to export a Campaign to a Module again? :D

msd
January 10th, 2005, 00:53
Feature: Campaigns can now be exported as modules. A module contains the story, personality and item entries, and images with drawings and masks not applied. To export a module, use the command:
/export [module file name] [description]
The file name can't contain spaces, and will be prepended with ".mod" if not specified. The description will be the text visible on the module selection sheet.
Maybe I got into the mindset of calling a module that I convert into FG a 'Campaign' since I started playing with FG, but why would you want to export a Campaign to a Module again? :D

Just guessing...

Isn't it so that I can take my one-shot (organized as a campaign) and put it in a format (as a module) so that you can import it into your already running campaign without wrecking (or overwriting) your already existing campaign?

Again, just guessing. :D

Matt

Bagpuss2
January 10th, 2005, 01:06
I thought it was so you could release your campaign to the world without the world being able to edit it.

So for example you could create some funky items in a stand alone campaign then export it as a module.

Some other GM could then activate your module within his campaign, and use the items but not actually edit them and make them his own.

Goblin-King
January 10th, 2005, 07:27