PDA

View Full Version : Migrating a campaign to a new PC - GM inquiry

MagicofGaia
August 18th, 2015, 16:15
I'm still new to FG and have been sifting through the forums. I'm going to be building a new PC soon and wanted to be sure that if I created the campaign on this computer and let users create characters for the campaign once the server is live that as long as I transferred the local data to the new PC all campaign data, character sheets, etc would be intact.

This is especially important as I will have free players connecting to my game and don't want them to have to make the same character twice.

Thanks for any feedback.

Griogre
August 18th, 2015, 16:25
You are correct. Once you have your new PC ready then all you need to do is install FG on the new computer and then transfer the local data over to move all the campaigns, rulesets, extensions, portraits, etc.

Welcome to the boards, by the way. :)

MagicofGaia
August 18th, 2015, 16:56
You are correct. Once you have your new PC ready then all you need to do is install FG on the new computer and then transfer the local data over to move all the campaigns, rulesets, extensions, portraits, etc.

Welcome to the boards, by the way. :)

Thanks much!

Honken
August 18th, 2015, 17:18
Moving the Campaign is the easiest, just don't make my mistake and don't export the characters, because they are not saved in the Campaign folder.

If you have found where FG stuff is stored on the Harddrive all you have to do is to peek into the Campaign folder, copy the Campaign you want to move/backup. I do not know though how it handles the bought adventure modules. If they are saved as campaigns or not...

/H

Trenloe
August 18th, 2015, 18:18
I do not know though how it handles the bought adventure modules. If they are saved as campaigns or not...