PDA

View Full Version : DM Die rolling silhouette

Talzar
July 24th, 2015, 02:14
I'm just getting started here and I noticed something that seems like a bug. When I roll a die on the DM client, a silhouette of the die is displayed on the player client. I can think of many times that I'd want to roll a die without alerting the players.

Setup:
Running two instances of Fantasy Grounds, one DM (host), one client (player).
When I roll a die into the chat window, the a silhouette of the die is displayed in the player chat window.

Can we get this fixed, or have an option to remove the silhouette? Or is there a way to roll a die and get the results, without the players knowing?

Nylanfs
July 24th, 2015, 02:32
Just keep rolling and let the players paranoia work in your favor. :)

dberkompas
July 24th, 2015, 02:58
Hmmm, sounds like maybe an extension could be used?

I'll get to work on it.

BoomerET

Andraax
July 24th, 2015, 03:04
Roll the die onto the desktop, not the chat box.

Or roll a physical die on your desk.

damned
July 24th, 2015, 05:43
Roll the die onto the desktop, not the chat box.

Or roll a physical die on your desk.

Andraax suggestion of rolling on the desktop is currently the only way.

Zacchaeus
July 24th, 2015, 13:37
When you play on a real table top, even hiding behind a screen, the players would know fine well that you had rolled a dice. This is all part of the mystique of being a DM and also of course winding the players up. Fantasy Grounds is just emulating that sense of intrigue and building tension by showing the players a shadow dice. Use it to your advantage to get your players going; by not showing them that you are rolling a dice (possibly for no reason at all) you are robbing yourself and them of a lot of fun :)

Trenloe
July 24th, 2015, 15:00
Hmmm, sounds like maybe an extension could be used?
Nope, not with the current API.

Trenloe
July 24th, 2015, 15:04