PDA

View Full Version : Starting Cost

Danimal66
July 1st, 2015, 22:13
I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum. I've been running an online campaign on Roll20 for almost 2 years now. About 6 months ago we switched to D&D 5th edition and I'm very intrigues by Fantasy Grounds since it has the rule set built in.

I own all the 5E books, this includes all campaigns out. My players have purchased PHB obviously. If I do purchase I plan to do so on Steam since 4 of my 5 players are on Mac's. I'll be honest the cost is what is holding me back. I don't want to force my players to buy something else so if I do move forward I will go with the Ultimate License. So that's $150, then if I am reading this correctly the Core pack also includes the basic rules $49.99, I need the Monster Pack $49.99. I'm running them through Hoard right now so another $20. Total $270 for something which I hear is great but has a steep learning curve as a DM goes.

The point if this thread is to ask am I missing anything above to get started and are my assumptions correct in what each includes. Would it be better to buy an monthly Ultimate License and spend money on the D&D modules to see if it all works etc.

I really want to try this but spending $270 to find out one of my players Macs won't work or it's very hard to use is stopping me. Looking for general good advice.

Trenloe
July 1st, 2015, 22:39
Buying any Fantasy Grounds licence (Full or Ultimate) includes the framework (ruleset) to play 5E. It doesn't include any reference material but you can enter this manually as you need it, use PAR5E to create library entries from text you input or buy the products to save you the time.

For example, you can manually enter NPCs. See this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-POluSDHAc This shows some of the base 5E ruleset that comes with all versions of Fantasy Grounds - the framework that you need to play 5E.