PDA

View Full Version : How does a total noob get into this?

Ukigo
July 1st, 2015, 02:43
I just downloaded the free trial, and I want to play some D&D or Call of Cthulhu if possible, but I haven't played either of them ever (Very new to tabletops_. Reading the rules on them as I speak, but just don't know how I'd go about joining a game on here, and figuring out what to do in an all-digital setting. Thanks for the help

Goltron
July 1st, 2015, 02:56
Welcome Ukigo, Looking for group thread and the game calendar are great spots to find games. As for being new to tabletopping, most DMs are very accomadating when it comes to new players. Just let whoever is running the game know that you are new and most of the time they will be happy to guide you along at the start. Well that was what i experienced when I first joined with very little knowledge of tabletop rpg

brautigan1
July 1st, 2015, 02:59
If I were you, right now, I'd be content to do exactly what you are doing: learning the RPG you want to play, and learning what you can about Fantasy Grounds as a player (if you're not interested in DMing).

Other than that, advertising that you are LFG here on FG forums (in the forum for your game) is probably the best way to go. I am also new here, and gearing up to possibly DM some 5e, Maybe sometime we could get on FG together and go over a few things with each other for mutual benefit (and talk about getting into actual games, heh).

dberkompas
July 1st, 2015, 04:41
Definitions
LFG - Looking for game
RPG - Role Playing Game
DM - Dungeon Master
FG - Fantasy Grounds

Good luck, and make sure you catch the next FGDaze or FG Con, there's lots of games/one-shots to get in on.
(One-shot, a game that is just one session, not part of a multi-session campaign)

BoomerET

dulux-oz
July 1st, 2015, 10:28
Hi Ukigo, and Welcome!