PDA

View Full Version : GM Playing a PC

Shadranar
June 23rd, 2015, 17:24
Hi All,

Disclaimer: I'm extremely new to FG (2 days and counting). Awesome VTT by the way!

Sorry if there is an obvious answer to this question, but how does one run, as a GM, a PC in FG?

I have a small group of 2 players and want to add another PC to the group that will be run by myself. I know you can just create an NPC, but I want this guy to get treasure, level up, be a valuable asset to the group and such. I understand the meta-gaming issue here as I'll have all the knowledge possible to have this PC "know" everything. However, he will be just a glorified NPC in the end. The 2 real PCs will still be in the driver's seat so-to-speak. Having the GM play an PC(NPC) is nothing new.

If I were whipping him up at a real tabletop session, easy peasy. Can I just create him as a PC and take ownership?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Trenloe
June 23rd, 2015, 17:27
Create him as a PC. Start another instance of FG on your computer but "Join Game" with a server address of localhost Take control of the PC on this second instance and FG will see it as a player controlled character controlled in your second session.

Shadranar
June 23rd, 2015, 17:46
Thanks for the reply, Trenloe! And duh, I was doing just that last night with one of my PCs to test handouts and map presentation. LOL

I have 2 monitors so it should be problem. Thanks!

TASagent
June 23rd, 2015, 17:47
As an alternative to running a second client, if you just want the NPC's portrait to show up in the upper left, you can have another PC take ownership of him, but not be responsible for using him. As DM, you can always perform any PC's action, but having his portrait show up in the upper left corner requires a PC who is logged in to have control.