PDA

View Full Version : Questions about ultimate edition

Ymmurri
June 18th, 2015, 06:22
Hey, i've been playing DnD for a few years in a regular group but a few of us are moving and won't be able to get together to play physically anymore.

We were thinking about fantasy grounds but it is a bit too much for us all to get (we are a group of 6)

If i get the ultimate edition does that mean that we will be able to play with only me actually making a purchase? And will i have to DM or can another player who hasn't payed DM if i get the ultimate edition.

JohnD
June 18th, 2015, 06:29
If you get Ultimate, you can DM for anyone. Nobody else will be able to DM with your license; they'll have to buy the Full version. Luckily there's a bit of a sale going on now, so this would be a good time to take the plunge.

Ymmurri
June 18th, 2015, 06:33
If i get the ultimate edition and the DM gets the standard can the rest play with just the demo?

Also are the monster and class packs just digital versions of the monsters and players handbooks or are they necessary to play with those monsters and classes?

dulux-oz
June 18th, 2015, 06:52
If i get the ultimate edition and the DM gets the standard can the rest play with just the demo?

Also are the monster and class packs just digital versions of the monsters and players handbooks or are they necessary to play with those monsters and classes?

No

It works like this:

If the DM has an Ultimate License then anyone can connect (Demo, Full or Ultimate - or the now-defunct Lite License).
If the DM has a Full License then the Players will need Full or Ultimate Licenses (or the now-defunct Lite License).
If the DM has any other License than only 1 Demo License can connect - no Full, no Ultimate, no Lite Licenses.

Licenses can not be transferred ie you cannot buy an Ultimate License and "share" it.

So, if only one of you is ever going to GM then the Ultimate License is the best value.