PDA

View Full Version : New DM Pointers

Talen
June 6th, 2015, 15:48
Someone asked me today for tips in running his first D&D game through Fantasy Grounds. I game up with a quick top ten list, but I wanted to asked everyone here for their list as well since I find that I'm still learning new tricks with FG (or remember old one's as people point out how useful they are). What are your tricks, tips and practical advice for someone running D&D (AL or non-AL) in FG? Here's my list FWIW:

It helps to not just have your npc's ready, but to have them moved into the encounters tab on the NPC area - that way, you can just click one button and have them all entered in the combat tracker.
Related to the above, place your npc's from the encounter area to the map ahead of time - that way you don't have to waste time dragging them form the combat tracker to the map.
Have your map grid set for each map you intend to use ahead of time - that way you don't have to waste time resizing the image during game.
Start your server ahead of time to test connections as there are frequently connection issues (especially with newbies to FG) - but also so that you can set your FG windows before the game - your screen real estate gets used up pretty quickly and moving windows around during the game can become cumbersome.
Run through the Game and GM options button (top right button with a checkmark) before the game and decide on things like whether you will use a dice tower, auto roll npc initiatives, auto total GM dice, show dm dice, etc.