PDA

View Full Version : Vicious Mockery

Daxis32
May 26th, 2015, 05:07
I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal food trough wiper! I fart in your general direction! Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries!

But seriously.

I'm new to 5E but I would guess most people are. Vicious Mockery says to use a Wisdom saving throw but doesn't indicate a DC. I've been using the casters Spell Save DC (bard, 8+prof+char mod) but Fantasy Ground uses DC 10. I'm willing to concede my ignorance but can any one clarify?

WhtZombie
May 26th, 2015, 05:17
I am French can't you tell by my outrageous accent? This is how mine works after a minor tweak to the spell.

Daxis32
May 26th, 2015, 05:25
Thanks WhtZombie. I guess my question is should it be the casters DC or just DC 10? I guess you too believe it should be the caster's DC.

Daxis32
May 26th, 2015, 05:31
Also, maybe I'm not understanding the limits of Fantasy Ground. I guess the DC 10 is just a placeholder because the code can't interpret the class using the spell. So spells have to be tweaked after added?

WhtZombie
May 26th, 2015, 05:34
NP Daxis32, since the spell section in the PHB does not mention a flat DC 10 I am assuming it follows all the other spell DC calculations i.e. under the individual classes so in this case it would be 8 + Base Stat + Prof. I have found this flat CD 10 in more than one spell when dropping it on a Char sheet in FG, did not give it much thought as I have to apply a minor tweak to them anyway. Actually has helped me to understand FG better and I am now making modifications without hesitation.

Griogre
May 26th, 2015, 08:15