PDA

View Full Version : Merging Modules to Mitigate the Muddled Mess

JackOfAllGames
April 23rd, 2015, 01:53
Hello all! I'm fairly new to Fantasy Grounds and I've begun purchasing and creating D&D 5E modules. Not wanting to drop a ton of money (or data entry time for that matter) all at once, I've been buying some classes, monster groups, and other modules a piece at a time (rather than in the $50 groups). I can already see the module window getting quite messy though. I'd like to keep it clean and usable.

With this in mind, I'm wondering how to merge modules together - turn those purchased monster books into one...or the class books into one. I'm hoping there's some simple way to do this and I haven't just made a horrible mistake, purchasing them as I have. Even if the solution isn't simple, I'm not one to shy away from a challenge. I'm familiar with a few SQL databases, many storage formats, and have some programming experience. If a bit of tinkering is required, I don't mind.

So anyway, does anyone know how I could go about condensing the module data? I'd appreciate it. Thanks!

JohnD
April 23rd, 2015, 02:10
The modules are all protected so I doubt you will be able to combine as you want.

Zacchaeus
April 23rd, 2015, 13:17
The modules are all protected so I doubt you will be able to combine as you want.

Indeed, this is correct. There is a merge facility which would allow you to create your own module and then add stuff to it. However the 5e modules are protected in such a way that you can't alter them so merging would not be possible.

damned
April 23rd, 2015, 13:26
For every other ruleset to date you would be able to do what you are planning - but to protect the Wizards IP these files are encrypted and it wont work...

JackOfAllGames
April 23rd, 2015, 17:01