PDA

View Full Version : GM'ing Mines of Phandelver + Extra FG noob advice

manukosta
April 21st, 2015, 07:09
Hi, I'm new to Fantasy Grounds, any videos or advice on DM'ing Mines of Phandelver?

I'm actually starting part 4 of the campaign, when I decided to give this VTT a shot. I like that everything seems to be pretty much laid out in terms of ready content.

I particularly like the pins and being able to drag an encounter to the combat tracker.

My party currently is a 4th level monk, 4th level cleric, 4th level paladin and 4th level fighter/rogue. Given that, any advice on power/spells that I may have to adapt in terms of their usability? Or is everything ready to go?

Also, the party is very, very sneaky. How do I treat stealth + surprise within fantasy grounds? I understand the stealth vs perception checks, but how does VTT deal with attacks from stealth or surprise? If the NPCs/monsters are surprised, do I add them to the combat tracker or wait a round?

Thanks,

Manuel

PS: There a way to change my display name in these forums? I kind of messed up and put my username = one of my e-mails, lol. EDIT: Fixed! In like 5 minutes after sending an e-mail to support team, record time! Thanks.

Griogre
April 21st, 2015, 10:03
Welcome to the forums, manukotsa. Sent [email protected] an e-mail on the user name and explain what happened.

On surprise, you can see all the party's passive perceptions on the party sheet to help you figure out if any of them are surprised. Mechanically, for monsters its usually easier to add the encounter to the combat tracker. There is a link back from the tracker so you can open a monster up and see it's passive perception so you can compare that to the party's stealth checks.

Also you still need to roll initiative for the monsters on the first round even if they are surprised since after their turn in the 1st round they can use reactions - which can be important occasionally - so you need to know when their reactions could kick in.