PDA

View Full Version : Pre-Insertion of items



S Ferguson
February 21st, 2015, 22:01
Anyone have any experience at pre-inserting an item in a blank character inventory? For example if everyone starts out with a widget, and that widget is in a library module, how would you go about linking the widget from the library, into the character sheet. This has been perplexing me for a while. CoC does it (mind you it pre-populates all the "skills" relevant to an era). I'm just looking for a simple way of adding them in CoreRPG.

Perplexed :confused:,

SF

damned
February 21st, 2015, 23:13
Build your template CoreRPG character sheet as per Dougs video. Add your Item to Inventory. Export it. When you import, so long as the Module containing the Item is loaded it should be in the new character sheets?

S Ferguson
February 21st, 2015, 23:19
Build your template CoreRPG character sheet as per Dougs video. Add your Item to Inventory. Export it. When you import, so long as the Module containing the Item is loaded it should be in the new character sheets?

I was thinking more along the lines of doing this for homebrewed rulesets. It's something I've never seen discussed before, and would be interested in finding a solution to it. It would, for example, make outfitting a "kit" a lot easier than having to drag and drop the same items in over and over....

Cheers,
SF

damned
February 21st, 2015, 23:46
Could Parcels assist with this?
Create Kits for your classes and they can outfit themselves much more quickly.
https://www.fg-con.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/parcels.jpg

S Ferguson
February 22nd, 2015, 00:24
Could Parcels assist with this?
Create Kits for your classes and they can outfit themselves much more quickly.

This I gave some thought to. The Parcels are an excellent way of doling out equipment, save that it requires GM prep-time before startup. I hate prepping :mad:.

No actually I prep quite a bit for my games . But in the case of TORG, as an example, general backgrounds, items of the appropriate tech axiom you're carrying, and whatnot is factored into a template that you then add on top of (dole out stats and adds, fill in a specific background, etc.). I'm trying to think of a way to prepopulate a few things, like skills, items, backgrounds, etc. to base a template off of. It's more specific than class but less so than a pre-made character sheet you simply add to (although a case could be argued about this point). This is also used in (what's now owned by Precis Intermedia) the Masterbook system in games like Shatterzone, and Bloodshadows. On a larger scale, it's used in a lot of late 80's, early '90's games. Robotech and Rifts, for instance, takes, say a professional character class and you immediately get the skills you need. I'm looking for a small bit of automation on the character building side of things so you can, say, pick an archetype, and run with it. Everyone has hands and feet, so a "Fist/Kick" skill would be needed even if you don't improve it, or are poorly developed in the arts of kung-fu or other martial capabilities. That would be included in every template you define (unless you lacked the appendages). It's this type of "pre-insertion" I guess I'm talking about. Lots of games have it, however, in the transfer to the digital domain, it remains a bit more tenuous.

Cheers,
SF

damned
February 22nd, 2015, 00:43
Have a look at 5e with a Par5e module. When you add a class to your character all sorts of magic happens.
The pre-CoreRPG update of CnC 3 that was planned also did a bunch of this stuff.
Lots of cool things are possible - but its a lot of work and if you are doing it for a less well played ruleset its a big investment of time.


https://www.fg-con.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/fg-con-6-150-7.jpg (https://www.fg-con.com/events/)
FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com (https://www.fg-con.com/) for all the latest info.

S Ferguson
February 22nd, 2015, 01:48
Solved it using the CoC ruleset.

adding this code:

wpndata = {
["Fist/Kick"] = {damage="d6", shots=0, notes="Pugilistic weapons"}
}

function constructDefaultWeapons()
if getWindowCount() > 0 then
return;
end

-- Create missing entries for all basic weapons
local entrymap = {};
for _,w in pairs(getWindows()) do
local sName = w.name.getValue();
if wpndata[sName] then
entrymap[sName] = { w };
end
end
for k,t in pairs(wpndata) do
local matches = entrymap[k];
if not matches then
local w = createWindow();
w.name.setValue(k);
w.damage.setValue(t.damage);
w.shots.setValue(t.shots);
DB.setValue(w.getDatabaseNode(), "notes", "string", t.notes);
end
end
end

Works wonders if you call it on initializing your weapons window. You can adjust the code for skills, weapons (the example here), and other mundane things. I really have too much time on my hands....:p

Cheers,
SF

damned
February 22nd, 2015, 02:05
Nice one Scotty!


https://www.fg-con.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/fg-con-6-150-10.jpg (https://www.fg-con.com/events/)
FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com (https://www.fg-con.com/) for all the latest info.