PDA

View Full Version : Override CombatManager.nextActor a bad idea?



Erkenfresh
February 8th, 2015, 17:30
I'm making a quick and dirty ruleset for Champions 6th edition. For Champions, characters don't necessarily go on every "round", actually called segments. It depends on an attribute called speed or SPD. There's 12 segments in a Turn and characters go on certain segments according to a speed chart. For example, a character with SPD of 3 goes on segments 4, 8, and 12. SPD 4 goes on 3, 6, 9, and 12. SPD 5 is (I think) 3, 5, 8, 10, and 12. And so on.

In order to support this, I've heavily modified the nextActor function of the CombatManager. It will skip a character in the CT that doesn't get to go in a particular round. In every other manager script that I've needed to make modifications for this ruleset, I've been able to use custom handlers. But, nextActor doesn't call into any custom handlers. This leads me to think that altering nextActor might be a very bad idea. Is there perhaps a better way to go about this that I might be missing?

damned
February 8th, 2015, 23:16
you should speak with Blackfoot who is working on a similar ruleset I think.


http://www.fg-con.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/fg-con-6-150-13.jpg (http://www.fg-con.com/events/)
FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com (http://www.fg-con.com/) for all the latest info.

Erkenfresh
February 9th, 2015, 03:46
Yes indeed he is. Champions 5th I believe which shares the same rules in this case. Maybe he'll come by and troll the boards. ;)

Moon Wizard
February 10th, 2015, 03:57
I would just keep a version of that original script that you modified, so you can use it to compare differences with newer versions.

In fact, it might be useful to save s copy of whole CoreRPG version you base off of.

Cheers,
JPG

Erkenfresh
February 10th, 2015, 04:07
Ahh that's a really good idea. Yes I am doing the "ruleset layering" business so updates might foobar me if I'm not careful. Can I make a quick feature request for the next CoreRPG update then? Add a handler override for that function pretty please? ;)

I just learned about linking fields to a database node yesterday. That little chain icon in the CT was annoying me until I discovered what it meant. Then I realized that would save me hours of programming time. ;)

You guys rock!