PDA

View Full Version : Par5e: No mod or xml output



guttert
January 31st, 2015, 22:25
To verify that I have Par5e running correctly, I created a new properties file and used 1 example for equipment (the weapon example in the Par5e 5e document):


#@;WEAPON
#th;Name;Cost;Damage;Weight;Properties
#st;Simple Melee Weapons
Club;1 sp;1d4 bludgeoning;2 lb.;Light
Dagger;2 gp;1d4 piercing;1 lb.;Finesse, light, thrown (range 20/60)
#st;Simple Ranged Weapons
Crossbow, light;25 gp;1d8 piercing;5 lb.;Ammunition (range 80/320), loading, two-handed
Dart;5 cp each;1d4 piercing;1/4 lb.;Finesse, thrown (range 20/60)


When I run par5e to generate the fill, I see no error messages, but there's no xml in temp/ and no .mod file in the output folder.

I'm running the exe as Admin on Windows 8, and I have the latest JDK 1.7 installed. I'm selecting only equipment.txt (with the above text) and tables.txt (which is currently a blank file).

I've spent a bit of time searching for "no output" and similar terms, and I've not seen anything that solves the problem.

Any help would be appreciated.

damned
January 31st, 2015, 23:05
use the txt files that Valeros basic parser generates as a test.
If they dont work you probably have an issue with your paths input/output/temp folders.
And make sure you set your temp folder!


https://www.fg-con.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/fg-con-6-150-2.jpg (https://www.fg-con.com/events/)
FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com (https://www.fg-con.com/) for all the latest info.

guttert
February 1st, 2015, 01:03
Good suggestion. Those files worked. I'm not sure what could have been wrong, but at least now, I know that it works. I did all the input/output/temp folders the same as before, so there must have been something off with the test file, I'm guessing.

damned
February 1st, 2015, 01:28
i would agree with you - your new input file isnt being accepted.
i havent really used par5e but I loosely follow the thread.
some files require you to have a certain amount of data (not in characters or bytes but as in you cant load only a subset of the data) for a successful run.
good luck - the completed files really are cool.




https://www.fg-con.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/fg-con-6-150-5.jpg (https://www.fg-con.com/events/)
FG Con 6 – April 17-19th 2015 - register at www.fg-con.com (https://www.fg-con.com/) for all the latest info.

Trenloe
February 1st, 2015, 15:06
Don't use fractions with a / in the equipment. For darts the weight is listed as 1/4 lb. Try changing this to 0.25 lb, or if that doesn't work, change the line to 4 darts with a weight of 1 lb.

Zacchaeus
February 2nd, 2015, 16:27
Don't use fractions with a / in the equipment. For darts the weight is listed as 1/4 lb. Try changing this to 0.25 lb, or if that doesn't work, change the line to 4 darts with a weight of 1 lb.

This is interesting. I have the weights in with the hash and everything parsed fine - or at least it seemed to; but when I look at the output in FG it has actually converted the weights to a decimal fraction. Thus my 1/4 lb shows as 0.25. However my 1 1/2 lb is only showing up as 0.5. Once the 1 1/5 is changed to 1.5 it outputs correctly.

None of this prevented it parsing though and when I copy guttert's file into par5e it parses fine, so I think damned's point might be on the mark. However Trenloe's point is also good from the point of view of getting the output accurate.

Trenloe
February 2nd, 2015, 16:51
Interesting indeed... There's been quite a few people posting in the main PAR5E thread over the last few weeks with issues with the / causing equipment not to parse.

I guess I'm now confused what your issue is as you've just mentioned things parsing fine?

Zacchaeus
February 2nd, 2015, 21:15
Interesting indeed... There's been quite a few people posting in the main PAR5E thread over the last few weeks with issues with the / causing equipment not to parse.

I guess I'm now confused what your issue is as you've just mentioned things parsing fine?

Em, I didn't have the issue it was the OP. I was just trying to figure out what his problem might have been and when I looked at my own .txt file after you posted the thing about the slash it got me thinking, and then when I parsed the bit he posted it worked, so no wonder we are all confused :)

Trenloe
February 2nd, 2015, 23:00
em, i didn't have the issue it was the op.
doh!

Trenloe
February 2nd, 2015, 23:01
To verify that I have Par5e running correctly, I created a new properties file and used 1 example for equipment (the weapon example in the Par5e 5e document):


#@;WEAPON
#th;Name;Cost;Damage;Weight;Properties
#st;Simple Melee Weapons
Club;1 sp;1d4 bludgeoning;2 lb.;Light
Dagger;2 gp;1d4 piercing;1 lb.;Finesse, light, thrown (range 20/60)
#st;Simple Ranged Weapons
Crossbow, light;25 gp;1d8 piercing;5 lb.;Ammunition (range 80/320), loading, two-handed
Dart;5 cp each;1d4 piercing;1/4 lb.;Finesse, thrown (range 20/60)


When I run par5e to generate the fill, I see no error messages, but there's no xml in temp/ and no .mod file in the output folder.

I'm running the exe as Admin on Windows 8, and I have the latest JDK 1.7 installed. I'm selecting only equipment.txt (with the above text) and tables.txt (which is currently a blank file).

I've spent a bit of time searching for "no output" and similar terms, and I've not seen anything that solves the problem.

Any help would be appreciated.
Try some of the things mentioned below. Also, don't have a blank tables.txt file and try to parse it - this could confuse the parser.