PDA

View Full Version : New Player Interested in Text Only Shadowrun 5E Game

hc1980
January 8th, 2015, 16:42
Hi everyone!

This might be a tall order for fulfill, but I figured I would post it here and see if anyone would be able to help me.

I'm new to tabletop rpgs and was wondering if anyone would show me the ropes/run a game of Shadowrun.

Here are the stipulations:

- Unfortunately, my house is small and my kids will be sleeping so the game will need to be text only.

- I do not own FG. Is there a free version so I can test out the application before buying?

- I'm available Monday - Thursday 7 to 10 PM EST.

hc1980
January 9th, 2015, 15:07
Hmmm ... okay, maybe I'll have a bit more luck with dnd 5e. Are there any dnd 5e text only games available?

GunnarGreybeard
January 9th, 2015, 16:04
I think text only games are pretty rare. They are out there, but few and far between, at least thats the impression I have gotten.

Doc Sportello
January 9th, 2015, 16:13
Personally, I'd be interested in a text-only game, but I've never played Shadowrun.

hc1980
January 9th, 2015, 18:06
Maybe we should scratch the system all together. Would you be willing to play something else?

Would anyone be interested in running a text only D&D 5E game?

Doc Sportello
January 9th, 2015, 18:45
I might be! Your times often work for me, and I've got all the 5e books. And ultimately I'm more interested in DMing than playing. But I'm new to FG myself, and I'm playing in my first game (Star Wars) this weekend. If it goes well, I'll probably upgrade to the Ultimate license, and I could prepare and run a text-only D&D 5e game.

But I'd need time to prepare. E.g., pick a premade module, or (gulp) create a new one. Did you want to play the Beginners Box, or a different module, or a sandbox?

hc1980
January 9th, 2015, 19:20
Beginners box would be a good start since I'm new to role playing.

damned
January 9th, 2015, 22:33
hc1980 - perobably 10-15% of ganes are text only or largely text.