PDA

View Full Version : More connection issues/advice/ESET antivirus

Zacchaeus
December 6th, 2014, 13:45
Since I'm new to FG and since I had some considerable difficulty in connecting up my group I thought I might share what we eventually had to do. This may simply be unique to me but possibly not.

First off I'm all wireless here so my problems might have been related to that in some way. However I don't think it can simply be that. Anyway once I had FG installed (via Steam btw although this should make no difference), I used the "Test" button on the start up screen and it failed. I think I then did a Google search which led me to the need for port 1802 to be open. This further led me to a site which explained how I could do this for my router (although the instructions on that site were not particularly extensive I have to say). At any rate I eventually figured out what I had to do and managed to set up a couple of rules to open port 1802 for both incoming and outgoing traffic. When I then used the test button I got a green light. All was joy - for a while.

I assumed at this point that this was all I had to do but unfortunately it wasn't. When one of my players tried to join they could not find my server. So we then spent a while figuring out how to open ports on his router firewall. Naturally his was different from mine and it took us some time to figure it out. Eventually we did and he, too, got a green light when he used his test server button. Great, we thought, result. Unfortunately, no, he still couldn't connect. We then tried connection with our virus protection disabled (we are both using ESET), but to no avail.