PDA

View Full Version : Trust in Players and Discipline

Valhingen
November 17th, 2014, 19:13
I'm just learning the ropes with FG (as DM) at the moment, having some mock-up battles and the like and one thing has me wondering.

Is there any way to stop people from rolling dice aside of "I trust my players and they behave"? I do of course though eventually with a large group there is bound to be some trolling if you cant stop a player from saying "target all enemies" and clicking damage roll 10 times.

The less severe part is that you got players understandably fiddle with their dice and spamming up chat...unless there is some moderation tool for it.

Nickademus
November 17th, 2014, 19:49
Fantasy Grounds does not help you with this.

Your players simply need to have discipline. (I know there is a good 5 minutes of entertainment once the players realize they can roll 20 dice at once; let them get this out of their system.)

I suggest a scaling approach. The point of them playing is to have fun. If they stop having fun, they will be more likely to behave.

Start by respectfully explaining that excess rolling during the game, or unauthorized rolls that affect the game, slow things down and spam chat. Then politely ask them to do such things prior to the game session or wait until the end (or during a break if you take 5 during the session).

If they persist, call a Time Out for 5 minutes when they continue to spam dice. They will get bored of doing nothing and the once that are behaving will pressure the one(s) that are not.

If it is a single person and it continues, Put him/her in Time Out for 10 minutes. Their character fades to the background and they are unable to play.

If it continues, you are better off booting the player and replacing him/her. If the whole group continues, best to think of more light-hearted games they can play or run silly adventures where the spam fits in.

Sorry about your situation though. :/

Valhingen
November 17th, 2014, 20:10