PDA

View Full Version : Map units

oginostok
November 15th, 2014, 16:55
Hello everybody I'm a newbie of FG2 and I came over a big issue.

I've searched everywhere ( wikia, video tutorials, forum) but I didn't find where (and how) to change the map scale from feets to meters, kilometers etc.
Can anyone help me?

Thank a lot!

Andraax
November 15th, 2014, 17:03
In most rulesets there is an option for the length of the grid. If you want to use 1 meter squares, then set this length to "1" and create a square grid. After that, measurements on the movement lines, targeting arrows, etc. - while they might still have the " ' " after them to denote feet - will be in meters.

Basically, the unit you set will be what is measured for each square (or hex) of distance - what unit this represents is up to you.

Trenloe
November 15th, 2014, 17:33
Each ruleset will have a scripts\manager_gamesystem.lua file. within this file will be a function getDistanceUnitsPerGrid() function that returns a number. For example, for 3.5E it is coded as return 5; for 5 units per grid. You would have to change this function in the ruleset/s you're using to change the measurement units per grid square.

As Andraax says, just ignore the ' after the measurement.

oginostok
November 15th, 2014, 17:37
so I have to change only in the ruleset file? What if I have different scales? Like for example I have a dungeon map (where the scale will be 1.5m per box) and a travelling map (where it will be 15km per hex)?

Trenloe
November 15th, 2014, 18:02
so I have to change only in the ruleset file? What if I have different scales? Like for example I have a dungeon map (where the scale will be 1.5m per box) and a travelling map (where it will be 15km per hex)?
See my post above.

oginostok
November 15th, 2014, 18:39
function getDistanceUnitsPerGrid()
return 1.5;
end

So I've put this into the file but apparently nothing has changed.. What am I doing wrong?

Trenloe
November 15th, 2014, 20:36