PDA

View Full Version : Saving out the campaign but not as a module (backup)

svossler
September 14th, 2014, 02:47
I want to save out my campaign for backup, but I don't want to have to bring it back in as module to for the parts that I want to bring back in. Is there a way to do that?

Also I'd like to be able to save out the campaign delete all the parts I don't want in a module. Then create the module (ex: completed chapter that I don't use often but may need to later) to turn on and off as desired. Then reload my saved out campaign and delete the parts I turned into modules so I can bring the module in and out as needed.

Basically I want to create my main campaign, have it backed up in case my hard drive crashes, and also be able to limit my file/campaign size for both ease of connection to clients and organization.

I'm new to FGII so please excuse me if this is a simple task that I just haven't picked up on yet. I'm also new to posting threads, so any advise in any etiquette breach is appreciated. What's a tag?

Andraax
September 14th, 2014, 03:21
You can just save your whole campaign directory to back it up (I make separate .zip files of the campaign directory with a timestamp so I can go back to any point in the campaign if needed). Depending on which ruleset you have, you can also, when creating a module, only drag and drop the stuff you want exported into the module. What ruleset(s) are you using?

Mgrancey
September 14th, 2014, 03:21
Backing up your campaign is easy. There are two ways to go about it, one is to simply back up the campaign itself, the other is to export as a module.

The first method is easy.
First setup where you are going to store your backup.
Next you want to access the "Application Data Folder"
The easiest way to access it is to open FG and from the inital screen look to the top right corner, above the license you have, you will see a folder button which you just need to click on.