PDA

View Full Version : Question about Animal Companions

dooSheR
July 2nd, 2014, 22:06
What is the best way to approach animal companions using Fantasy Grounds? I've read a few ideas, like making an item and linking the NPC companion into the item, although I cannot seem to do this.

Does anyone have any suggestions? Can anyone tell me what the trick is to linking an NPC inside of an item, or linking anything other than an ability or power inside an item?

Any help would be appreciated.

darrenan
July 2nd, 2014, 22:23
Not sure how different they are in 4E compared to 3.5/PF (or how different the rulesets are for that matter), but I typically just use a second character sheet for animal companions. Not sure why you would need an item involved at all, they don't go into your inventory after all.

dooSheR
July 2nd, 2014, 22:41
Apparently someone used it as an easy work around for the player to have access to their NPC animal companion sheet. I am pretty new to Fantasy Grounds, is it easy for 1 player to control 2 PCs without having to run multiple programs?

Trenloe
July 2nd, 2014, 22:44
Yeah, use a second PC for your companion - it's the easiest and most flexible.

It's very easy to switch between the 2 - just double-click the portrait in the top left of the desktop, or even just have 2 character sheets open at once.

darrenan
July 2nd, 2014, 23:01
The fun part is when you have your animal companion selected and then type in the chat window. Talking pets FTW!

Griogre
July 3rd, 2014, 05:04
LOL, too true. My Druid's wolf did a lot more talking then expected.

cheechako
July 3rd, 2014, 10:14
I had been switching character sheets to make my cat's rolls. I just discovered that I can pick my main character, and then set hot-keys from any character I control such as the cat companion. I cannot figure out how to change the hot key's message, though. I'll set hot-keys next session - they will make life so much easier.

Griogre
July 3rd, 2014, 15:45