PDA

View Full Version : No dual monitor support! Really?

Luft
June 26th, 2014, 05:36
I just got a second monitor because trying to GM a game with just one monitor is nearly impossible. I must say that I am REALLY disappointed that FG is a MDI program.

Yeah, I can "stretch" the main window across two screens but it's hardly a perfect solution. Being a programmer myself I understand that changing FG from a MDI to non MDI program would require a ton of work but I am disappointed.

Just sayin'

cheechako
June 26th, 2014, 06:03
I run a wide-screen and a tall-screen, which is great for having PDFs handy. So, yeah, windows that are external of the main window would be great.

Trenloe
June 26th, 2014, 06:13
Add your vote: https://fg2app.idea.informer.com/proj/?ia=54190

cheechako
June 26th, 2014, 06:38
Was not aware - made a few votes there.

Unbutu
June 27th, 2014, 05:03
Even as a player I would like this. Can't imagine how cool it would be for a DM

edit: voted too

Griogre
June 27th, 2014, 19:08
While I'm not opposed to dual monitor support, I would have a hard time voting to spend development time on it. I've been running FG for more than 5 years with two monitors and I feel I'm pretty typical of most FG GMs. I know I would not use FG full screen even though I have two monitors.

This is because I routinely use 1 and 1/2 screens for FG with the other half of a screen holding a PDF, a browser or the VoIP program and I think that is a fairly typical use pattern. Full screen on multiple monitors is just not that good as soon as you want anything other than FG open - and for the GM that is going to be most of the time. One of FG's great strengths is its low data input requirements (when you use VoIP) and I think I am typical in that I only input maps, monsters and encounters for most adventures and have a word document or PDF open for the other adventure information.