PDA

View Full Version : I made right?



yako2020
June 22nd, 2014, 15:09
68586859686068616862

yako2020
June 22nd, 2014, 15:15
6863686468656866

Irondrake
June 22nd, 2014, 15:32
Your AC is 10 too high. The reason is because armor replaces base AC, not adds to it. I found the easiest way to correct it is just subtract 10 from the armor AC and add that to the Armor line. The ruleset seems to add the base of 10 regardless.

For Divine Favor: I would create an effect that grants you 1d8 radiant damage instead of creating a separate weapon entry for it. The effect should look like "DMG:1d8 radiant" and set it to SELF. Set it to expire when the spell should expire (I think after one attack). That way you can apply Divine Favor to whatever weapon your character is using at the time, instead of having to create a new entry any time you change weapons...or having two entries for every weapon. Since several spells modify hit and damage, this seems to me the better way to go.

yako2020
June 22nd, 2014, 15:59
But Studded Leather has AC 13? So had+3 to AC + Dex Bonus?
I don't know how to made the alterations in the spells
I made many fields because I had 3 cantrips, 2 spells of my Domain and 2 Cleric Spell

yako2020
June 24th, 2014, 15:08
Halfling Rogue
6882

El Condoro
June 24th, 2014, 15:18
Looks good except a level 1 Rogue only gets 4 skill proficiencies - you can click the yellow star to turn off proficiencies.

yako2020
June 24th, 2014, 20:39
I do not know if I got it right.
According to the book The Rogue has 4 proficiency in skills and background Guild Thief gives me same skill proficiency in a second then said I can exchange repeated by another, as well as proficiency in tools.

yako2020
June 24th, 2014, 20:42
Could someone put together a video to assist in completing spells of classes that have?
I do not know if'm doing right and to doubt with the cantrips.

El Condoro
June 24th, 2014, 21:45
I am new to 5E, too, so I could be wrong but I think those 3 skills from the background are only suggestions - you don't get them automatically. You still have the same skill list for a Rogue to choose from - you take 4 but the background suggests 3 of them.

yako2020
June 25th, 2014, 02:02
I am new too and I understood the B.G gives extra "features" to the character.

Irondrake
June 25th, 2014, 04:03
Unfortunately we're not going to be 100% positive on backgrounds until August. They underwent some changes after the public playtest. I'm not even sure they grant skills anymore. It may be that they only give suggestions. You are right about your AC, but on your sheet it was listed as 27, not 17. As far as spells go, I think someone already posted some videos that may be helpful for how the system works: Check here http://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/Videos

yako2020
July 20th, 2014, 14:44
I Made Right?
7054

ShadeRaven
July 20th, 2014, 15:14
Background does indeed give extra skills.

Thus, if you were Rogue with a Soldier background, you'd get your 4 chosen from Rogue (ones you don't get from Soldier) plus the additional Athletics and Intimidation from Soldier. You were okay there. :)

ShadeRaven
July 20th, 2014, 15:16
I Made Right?
7054Sneak Attack does not require a Wisdom Save by the opponent. The Rogue simply needs to either have Advantage or the Enemy that is being targeted must be within 5' of a threatening foe.

Edit: What I like to do for Sneak Attack is add the Additional Action of an Effect. The Effect will be targeting self and then be set to Expend on next roll. The description/condition/modifier gets set to DMG: +1d6. The character then applies that Sneak Attack bonus before rolling damage so that the bonus die is rolled with the regular damage die at the same time.

But your way would certainly work, too, once you get rid of the save.

ShadeRaven
July 20th, 2014, 15:24
Unfortunately we're not going to be 100% positive on backgrounds until August. They underwent some changes after the public playtest. I'm not even sure they grant skills anymore. It may be that they only give suggestions. You are right about your AC, but on your sheet it was listed as 27, not 17. As far as spells go, I think someone already posted some videos that may be helpful for how the system works: Check here http://www.fantasygrounds.com/wiki/index.php/VideosActually, Irondrake, the PDF gives a good account of how Backgrounds are going to be used. On page 36, you get the following:


Proficiencies:
Each background gives a character proficiency in two skills. Skills are described in chapter 7.
In addition, most backgrounds give a character proficiency with one or more tools. Tools and tool proficiencies are detailed in chapter 5.
If a character would gain the same proficiency from two different sources, he or she can choose a different proficiency of the same kind (skill or tool) instead.

Irondrake
July 20th, 2014, 18:03
Well yeah, true enough, I posted that back in June before I had the basic rules :)

One addition to Sneak Attack I've noticed is you must be wielding a finesse or ranged weapon to use it. Basically their way of ensuring you're using a Dex weapon, even if you're using your strength to wield it.

ShadeRaven
July 20th, 2014, 19:09
Ah, didn't realize there was a bit of Necromancy going on with this thread :D

Good point, Iron, on Sneak Attack. That's definitely worth mentioning and keeping mind of!

yako2020
July 20th, 2014, 21:24
From what I read:
If I do a base attack using dexterity.
And I have advantage or if I'm attacking a target within 5 feet of range that is fighting another character and is not incapacitated.
In both cases I add 1d6 to the damage.


I believe the effect would be perfect, but still have the ability to create as a rogue power or an attack with weapon and could be a sneak attack.


Shame we did not quite understand the mechanisms of nomenclature to use sneak attack like effect.

Irondrake
July 20th, 2014, 21:59
The effect is nice because it will automatically go away after you make your damage roll and you don't have to use up another weapon slot for it.

If you'd like to use it this way and are still having trouble getting it set up, I could probably log into your FG Server and demonstrate the creation and use of it.

yako2020
July 20th, 2014, 22:10
If you can take a picture of the grounds fantasy screen or send the words or do not know if want to show directly in fantasy grounds will be a pleasure.
I understand what you write or speak, I try to communicate by text, but I'm talking a lot of skill: (

Irondrake
July 20th, 2014, 22:24
Ok, on the Abilities tab, create an Ability group for the rogue.

7057

Add an Ability to it called sneak attack, then right click that ability and from the circle menu add an Effect.

Edit the effect and give it the following properties:

7058

When your rogue is ready to use it in combat, set your ability mode to combat and click the little button beside Sneak attack. It will automatically apply the effect and when you roll the damage, it will roll and add an extra 1d6. As you level up, just update the effect to include the new sneak attack dice amounts.

yako2020
July 20th, 2014, 23:11
@Irondrake the attachment don't load

Irondrake
July 20th, 2014, 23:38
Now that's weird, they are just pictures...I edited the post and they appeared, not sure if there was just a glitch or something, they should show up now.

yako2020
July 21st, 2014, 00:07
Still not loading

El Condoro
July 21st, 2014, 00:09
I get an 'Invalid attachment' message when I try.

yako2020
July 21st, 2014, 00:17
Still not loading

MessageInvalid Attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator (http://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/sendmessage.php)

Trenloe
July 21st, 2014, 18:29
Now that's weird, they are just pictures...I edited the post and they appeared, not sure if there was just a glitch or something, they should show up now.
There are no attachments in that post (#21) any more. Hence the invalid attachment message.

Irondrake
July 21st, 2014, 19:09
Let me try this again...its still showing and opening when I look at it, but I'll repost the pictures here. The first picture should have been this:

7060

The second was this:

7061

Hopefully these show up right, I haven't had issues with displaying uploaded pictures before.

Trenloe
July 21st, 2014, 19:29
Let me try this again...its still showing and opening when I look at it, but I'll repost the pictures here.
These show up now. :)

yako2020
July 21st, 2014, 20:57
Thanks Irondrake

Irondrake
July 22nd, 2014, 02:53
Whew glad it worked! Hope that helps.