PDA

View Full Version : What does extending CoreRPG give me

ianmward
June 19th, 2014, 09:48
Hi,

It may seem like a stupid question, but I am new to this...

I really want to use FG for Shadowrun 4 & 5 but want to import my characters from Hero Lab. I have just written an impoter for Savage Worlds based on one kindly donated by dberkompas which he wrote for Castles and Crusades. This was not difficult (though it is way off being complete, I'm sure) but I know that one for Shadowrun is going to be much harder. Looking at the fantastic looking Shadowrun ruleset, I think I need to understand it better and thought that updating it to extend CoreRPG might be a good way to get to know it much better, refactor things so they'll be easier for the converter and prepare it for library modules.

My real question is: what benefit does extending CoreRPG give me and how much will it help with Shadowrun, which it very different from d20 based systems?
Will I end up overriding so much that I don't I don't have anything left showing through the layering?
How will I ever understand what CoreRPG does and how? Given the limited documentation?

Yeah, ok, that was 3 or 4 questions...

Thanks in advance

Ian

Valarian
June 19th, 2014, 10:02
It means that your ruleset sits on top of the CoreRPG, instead of being a copy of the ruleset as a base (the normal state before this). It gives you access to everything in the framework CoreRPG, to which you only need to add the changes you're making. It also means that you get the updates coming through for CoreRPG without having to specifically include them in your own ruleset.

ianmward
June 19th, 2014, 10:07
I understand that much, but what does that really mean?
What is 'everything in the framework CoreRPG'? And how much will I need to override?

I'm not trying to be difficult, but is there a detailed explanation of what it gives and how it works?

Valarian
June 19th, 2014, 10:19