PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help

Fallen_SHadows
May 24th, 2014, 20:28
Hey,people of the forums i was just wondering if there was anyone out there GM or players out there that would be willing to help me learn the ropes of D&D 3.5 as i am completely new to both FG and D&D, i have already purchased a full licence for the game i just need someone or some people who are willing to teach a complete beginner the ropes of how to play D&D thanks for any help that you can give also sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forums but in my head it seemed like a good place to ask

Trenloe
May 25th, 2014, 01:23
First step, I'd recommend reading the player side of the rules - you can get a condensed version at the ODL SRD for D&D 3.5 here: https://www.d20srd.org/

I'd recommend picking up a players handbook too.

hangarflying
May 25th, 2014, 01:28
There are a bunch of YouTube vidoes that might help.

https://www.youtube.com/user/DawnforgedCast This is a good channel that has a lot of good information. Most of it is slanted towards Pathfinder, which while not D&D 3.5, it is close enough that you'll be able to understand D&D 3.5.

damned
May 25th, 2014, 01:41
Reading - or starting to read the Players Handbook (D&D not FG) is definitely a good start. It introduces you to what its all about etc.
Then you would want to do both of watch some of those videos and get in on a D&D or Pathfinder game as a player. Even a PFS session would give you a really good idea of how it all works.

Fallen_SHadows
May 25th, 2014, 16:08
thanks for the advice all, I've started reading the players handbook and I'm watching a few things on youtube now

JohnD
May 25th, 2014, 16:14
Your experience is the most magical the less of the rule set and game mechanics you know in my opinion. Just start and enjoy yourself.

Griogre
May 25th, 2014, 17:24