PDA

View Full Version : Can't Delete NPC from combat Tracker v3.0.4 D&D 3.5



nordren
May 21st, 2014, 07:29
Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:108: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)




Please help me!

damned
May 21st, 2014, 08:15
he is a recurring NPC. no matter what the heroes do this NPC continues to dog their trail. he is always there ready to implement his nefarious plots.

Trenloe
May 21st, 2014, 14:10
Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:108: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)
Is this for all NPCs or a specific NPC?

How are you deleting - right-clicking on the NPC or via the menu in the top left of the combat tracker.

nordren
May 21st, 2014, 18:05
Both ways, and all NPC's

Trenloe
May 21st, 2014, 18:17
Are you running any extensions? If so, which ones?

If you change from "test" to "live" mode do you still get the errors?

Trenloe
May 21st, 2014, 18:24
Doing some testing this appears to be a problem with the latest release of the 3.0.4 test code. Change to "live" mode and you should be OK.

nordren
May 21st, 2014, 19:00
Yah alredy did dat and works, but the version 3.0.4 is realy good please fix it fast!!!


ty for helping me!

Trenloe
May 21st, 2014, 21:23
http://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?20847-Beta-release-v3-0-4&p=175452&viewfull=1#post175452

Fixed. :)

Nyiri_Hawkwing
June 29th, 2014, 08:24
Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:108: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)

It might have been fixed, but it's happening again. Version 3.0.5.

As an update - can delete player characters with no problem but cannot delete any NPC's of any kind.

It appears that this started to happen after the "delete" button started appearing when the NPC reached zero hit points.

Trenloe
June 29th, 2014, 16:07
Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:108: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)

It might have been fixed, but it's happening again. Version 3.0.5.

As an update - can delete player characters with no problem but cannot delete any NPC's of any kind.

It appears that this started to happen after the "delete" button started appearing when the NPC reached zero hit points.
Are you running any extensions?

If so, disable all of them and see if the issue still occurs.

Nyiri_Hawkwing
June 29th, 2014, 23:24
No, not even using the 3 built-in ones - the wood, metal pro and dungeon. And I've downloaded no others.

It worked prior to the last 2 patches.

Not only that, what it does is that it adds the new little "delete NPC' button, and whether you use that button or do a right-click and do a delete that way, it gives you the error code and sets the NPC back to full health like it's a brand new NPC. And I've also deleted all extensions out of the extension folder and tried it, with the same result.

Is there a way to manually remove them from a file?

Below is the console log:

[29.06.2014 21:32:39] Runtime Notice: Initializing DirectX
[29.06.2014 21:32:39] Runtime Notice: Initializing COM
[29.06.2014 21:32:40] Runtime Notice: Fantasy Grounds starting
[29.06.2014 21:32:43] Runtime Notice: Host session started
[29.06.2014 21:33:58] Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:109: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)
[29.06.2014 21:34:04] Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:109: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)
[29.06.2014 21:34:29] Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:109: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)
[29.06.2014 21:36:23] Script Error: [string "ct/scripts/ct_entry.lua"]:109: attempt to call field 'deleteReference' (a nil value)
[29.06.2014 21:38:36] Database Notice: Campaign saved.
[29.06.2014 21:43:36] Database Notice: Campaign saved.
[29.06.2014 21:48:36] Database Notice: Campaign saved.

Nyiri_Hawkwing
June 30th, 2014, 00:01
I went into ct_entry.lua under the 4E rulesets. I commented out lines 106 through 110, has something to do with removing the icon from the combat board as well as the NPC from the tracker. This allowed me to remove the NPC's from the tracker now. I think it might have something to do with the fact that I removed the tokens from the combat map before removing the NPC from the combat tracker. So I can remove them now, but that's still a problem if I leave it commented in.

I tried it again, leaving the token on the combat board and also without putting a token on the combat board and it will not let me remove an NPC with those lines in the code.

Trenloe
June 30th, 2014, 01:31
I went into ct_entry.lua under the 4E rulesets. I commented out lines 106 through 110, has something to do with removing the icon from the combat board as well as the NPC from the tracker. This allowed me to remove the NPC's from the tracker now. I think it might have something to do with the fact that I removed the tokens from the combat map before removing the NPC from the combat tracker. So I can remove them now, but that's still a problem if I leave it commented in.
Looking at my 3.0.5 version of 4E there is no such code at lines 106 - 110. This sounds like you still have an older version of the 4E ruleset installed on your system.

In your <FG Data App>\rulesets directory is there a directory called 4E as well as the 4E.pak file?

Nyiri_Hawkwing
June 30th, 2014, 03:22
Yes, there is a 4E directory and a 4E.pak file. The 4E.pak file is 4.752 meg, although it shows yesterday's update that I did for both the 4E directory and the 4E.pak file date of 6/28 (when I last hit the "update" button).

The ct_entry.lua file shows a date of 5/27/14 at 4:50 pm and is only 9k in size.

Nyiri_Hawkwing
June 30th, 2014, 03:28
I just deleted the 4E.pak and the 4E directory then did the patch again and it put the 4E.pak back in, did not put in the 4E directory and everything seems to be working fine.

Trenloe
June 30th, 2014, 04:13
I just deleted the 4E.pak and the 4E directory then did the patch again and it put the 4E.pak back in, did not put in the 4E directory and everything seems to be working fine.
The 4E directory would have been for an old 4E ruleset. FG uses a ruleset directory with the same name as a .pak file before it uses the .pak ruleset. But, FG only updates the .pak file - so be careful if you ever unzip a ruleset to the ruleset directory as this will then be a permanent change to that ruleset, the best way to stop this happening is to rename the directory to something like 4E_MyRules or something like that.

Nyiri_Hawkwing
June 30th, 2014, 04:48
Thanks for the help. It's been kind of fun looking through the stuff to that detail while trying to figure this one out.