PDA

View Full Version : Invitation to a Game of Numenera

ExNusquam
May 21st, 2014, 02:40
I am about to run my first game of Numenera - my first time playing and my first time GM'ing. That being said, I feel that I understand the RAW and RAI of the game (they are fairly simple) and have also embraced some of the advanced/optional rules set out in the Guide. I am coming from a fairly numbers and tactics-intense background of D&D (mostly) and PF (a little). Some of the other players may, as well. I am NOT experienced with the Fate system, I am NOT experienced with The Window RPG, Savage Worlds, or Amber, etc.

In a nod to my transition, the game will be slightly house-ruled, as described below. The rules are not ground-breaking nor are they game-breaking; if anything, they simply expand upon the players' options a bit for those of us who like options.

Read below and contact me if you are interested. Thanks in advance.

About the Game:

Setting - World of Numenera as presented in the source book
Party - goal size of 5 players + GM (me) - current openings: 5
Type - RP > fighting; there will be battles, there will be bloodshed, but the focus is not on fights... but adventuring (and fighting) (does that make sense?)
Maps - Digital maps, as usual; no grids used, if possible - I would like to run this like I DM'ed in the '80's - TotM with enough mapping to keep players grounded and to have a focal point
Communication - Skype. Do not apply if you don't have a working mic; I do not use TS3, etc.; I have a Skype premium account and can host multi-video conferencing if everyone agrees and has a camera
Length - "Several weeks" to test out the game, rules, environment, feeling - further adventures TBD
Times - Weekly, the day TBD, but either Mondays or Tuesdays, likely; start time ~8pm Central Standard Time (CST)
When - likely to start within one month; exact date TBD