PDA

View Full Version : 'Notes' glitch?



Alchemister
April 26th, 2014, 14:49
Hi all,

For some reason players can no longer create new notes, although they are still able to modify pre-existing notes. Has anybody got any ideas how to resolve this one? As ever, any help would be gratefully received.

Moon Wizard
May 1st, 2014, 01:29
You can try the /flushdb command which removes all record sharing in the campaign. Any owned items (characters and notes) will remain owned and accessible. Otherwise, I'd have to look at the db.xml for the campaign.

Regards,
JPG

Stollesson
October 20th, 2014, 21:11
I would say that this is not a "glitch" it's a bug.

It happens to me too, with a new campaign no extensions loaded.
When the player adds a new note nothing happens on the player side.
On the GM side I see a new note belonging to the player.

Trenloe
October 20th, 2014, 21:38
I would say that this is not a "glitch" it's a bug.

It happens to me too, with a new campaign no extensions loaded.
When the player adds a new note nothing happens on the player side.
On the GM side I see a new note belonging to the player.
To try to identify the underlying issue: if the player closes FG and connects again do they see the note they created then?

Stollesson
October 21st, 2014, 19:29
No the notes don't come back.

While doing some testing I spotted what might be the problem.

I created a new campaign and then started a second instance with the player name Tester. When Tester creates a note nothing happens on the player side
but on the GM side a new note is created with the owner Teste. It doesn't matter what I call the player the last character is missing when the owner of the note is created.


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<root version="3.0" release="1">
<effect>
<holder name="Tester" />
</effect>
<image>
</image>
<modifier>
<holder name="Tester" />
</modifier>
<note>
<holder name="GM" owner="true" />
<id-00001>
<holder name="GM" />
<holder name="Teste" owner="true" />
<ispublic type="number">0</ispublic>
<newnote type="number">0</newnote>
<owner type="string">Teste</owner>
</id-00001>
</note>
<preference>
<UseSkillLevels type="string">Yes</UseSkillLevels>
</preference>
</root>

When I then starts a new payer name Teste he sees the note:)

Trenloe
October 21st, 2014, 19:57
You've hit the nail on the head there.

A quick fix is to add the 3 red highlighted lines in the sendCommand function in scripts\chatmanager.lua


function sendCommand(name,text)
local msg = {};
msg.sender = "/cmd "..name.." "..User.getUsername();
if name == "note" then
msg.sender = msg.sender .. " ";
end
msg.text = text;
msg.font = "";
deliverMessage(msg, "");
end

This will result in the note being created with the correct owner name, but the player has to close the note list and open it again to see the note. I can't find any code that automatically opens the new notes window on the client - as it relies on the GM creating the underlying database node I'm guessing this is as designed.

Stollesson
October 22nd, 2014, 16:40
Trenloe thanks for your help.

ddavison
October 22nd, 2014, 19:46
You've hit the nail on the head there.

A quick fix is to add the 3 red highlighted lines in the sendCommand function in scripts\chatmanager.lua


function sendCommand(name,text)
local msg = {};
msg.sender = "/cmd "..name.." "..User.getUsername();
if name == "note" then
msg.sender = msg.sender .. " ";
end
msg.text = text;
msg.font = "";
deliverMessage(msg, "");
end

This will result in the note being created with the correct owner name, but the player has to close the note list and open it again to see the note. I can't find any code that automatically opens the new notes window on the client - as it relies on the GM creating the underlying database node I'm guessing this is as designed.

Thanks Trenloe.

I've posted the fix to the patch system.