PDA

View Full Version : Eclipse Phase ruleset - Where to start?

leetsepeak
January 25th, 2014, 08:22
So I should preface this with the fact that I am not a pro at this by any means and that the only thing I really have going for me is that I'll work obsessively to make something right. With that in mind, while I'm eagerly awaiting something like the Ruleset Wizard, I want to check on the possibility of making an Eclipse Phase ruleset, or at the very least, whether I should work by modifying say, the BRP ruleset or another ruleset as the basis for it.

I'll say first and foremost that I'm not actually all that interested in such a sheet having a lot of bells and whistles. At this point, I just want something that functions.

Any thoughts?

Moon Wizard
January 25th, 2014, 08:48
I'm not familiar with the BRP ruleset, but I would suggest building on top of the CoreRPG ruleset. You get all of the functionality already built-in to the CoreRPG layer without having to write anything.

I would suggest starting by looking at the Numenera ruleset available in Test mode (see FG Settings dialog). Just rename the Numenera.pak file in the rulesets subfolder of the FG data directory by adding a ".zip" then explore the files.

Then, make a new directory in the rulesets folder for "Eclipse Phase", copy the base.xml file from Numenera, 3.5E or 4E into that new directory, then delete all the data in the file except for the description tag and the importruleset tag.

Then, add in the Desktop script, with the custom message for your ruleset. Remove any registerOptions calls/functions, since they are used to add House Rule options.

Next, I would suggest just making changes to the character sheet initially, and ignore everything else. Just copy the character files from CoreRPG or one of the other rulesets that layer on top of CoreRPG. (Usualy record_char_*.xml and template_char.xml) Then, start tinkering with adding/removing fields to being customizing to the way you want.