PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder or 3.5E for a Planescape campaign

hawkmoon100
November 5th, 2013, 14:02
I am new to Fantasy grounds (cant believe how long this amazing program has been around with out me realising it existed). Bought it as soon as I realised what I had been missing.
I am currently writing/converting my old ADnD planescape adventures to use in Fantasy grounds and was wondering what peoples opinions are on Pathfinder over 3.5E, either in general or in regards to running games in Fantasy grounds. I have played a lot of ADnD and DnD 3E, not seen much of 3.5E although I like the changes which were made in. I have never played Pathfinder but have been told it is basically just better.
To my question, would people suggest biting the bullet and just learning Pathfinder and using that for my Fantasy grounds game or would it really not make much difference.
I know its a bit of a woolly question and I don't really expect a definitive answer just opinions and or suggestions.

Thanks in advance..

kleamovich
November 5th, 2013, 14:46
If you are thinking about a Pathfinder game, there is a good amount of players here that enjoy Pathfinder. Personally, I feel that Pathfinder can give more options to players, for instance - archetypes. If you want players to have more options I would go with Pathfinder.

Let's say you have two level one Barbarians in 3.5e, they are going to be very similar - in a general sense.

Now if you have two level one Barbarians in Pathfinder, one could be a normal Barbarian and the other could be a Mad Dog Barbarian.

Nickademus
November 5th, 2013, 15:25
Totally bias here, but the way I see, Pathfinder was made by the people that made 3.0 and 3.5 D&D and has been called 'D&D 3.75'. I wouldn't want to play an older, outdated version of the game thus I play 3.75e. Just seems logical.

hawkmoon100
November 5th, 2013, 15:46