PDA

View Full Version : Custom Playing Cards

Mgrancey
October 20th, 2013, 07:05
Right, started on part of creating an extension, but unsure what to do as code. Extension is for Savage Worlds, creating custom playing cards for different settings. As far as images go, I started with Deadlands Reloaded all that is left is to export images and name them, but will eventually make one for each.

I am guessing that all would initially need done is to create a bit of code that redirects which folder it draws the card images from. After that I am unsure on whether it would be better to simply make each set a different extension or to add to the preferences (or somewhere else) a selector of which card set you would prefer.

I have some experience programming, but am rather unfamiliar with LUA and FG structure.

MODERATOR: Moved to new thread.

Trenloe
October 20th, 2013, 10:52
Are you looking to change the normal playing card deck images?

If so, which images are used are specified in the \graphics\graphics_cards.xml file in the base SavageWorlds ruleset.

For example:

<root>
<icon name="AceClubs" file="tokens/cards/Ace of Clubs.png" />
<icon name="AceDiamonds" file="tokens/cards/Ace of Diamonds.png" />
<icon name="AceHearts" file="tokens/cards/Ace of Hearts.png" />
<icon name="AceSpades" file="tokens/cards/Ace of Spades.png" />
<icon name="BlackJoker" file="tokens/cards/Black Joker.png" />
<icon name="CardBack" file="tokens/cards/ct_card_place.png" />

Your extension could simply contain a modified \graphics\graphics_cards.xml file that points to different image files (tokens) to use for each card in the deck. Then include a new directory in the \tokens directory within the extension that contains the modified token files.

Here is the current location of the standard playing card tokens in the Savage Worlds ruleset:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/39085830/Screenshots/SW%20Card%20Tokens.JPG