PDA

View Full Version : Fantasy Craft Ruleset

Morfedel
August 13th, 2013, 03:27
So, it appears no one has designed one of these, so I think I might work on it myself.

I used to be a programmer, but it seems that the learning curve for rules sets based on the info out there don't appear to be user friendly, but so far I've only glanced at it. This should be... interesting. :)

In the meantime, though, I suppose I'll have to roll with maptools while I work on this.

Moon Wizard
August 13th, 2013, 04:27
Check out the Laboratory forum for v3.0 in alpha testing. It offers a base ruleset to build off of to make custom ruleset development faster. Make sure to back up your data folder, if you decide to try it out.

Cheers,
JPG

Dakadin
August 13th, 2013, 04:54
Yes, try building your ruleset on the CoreRPG that JPG mentioned. It will give you a good foundation to start with. Then just add things like you would for an extension to your ruleset to get it the way you want. You can use the 3.5E, Pathfinder, or 4E rulesets as examples. Just rename the PAK file to a ZIP file so you can see the contents of those rulesets in v3.0. If you own the Call of Cthulu ruleset you can also use that as an example.

Post any questions you have.

Morfedel
August 14th, 2013, 14:33
Ok, so, I'm confused. I understand this core rules set, and I see it mentioned in the Laboratory forum, but it seems to be part of the new 3.x version... and there is a separate Forum, the Open Foundation Rules set in The Foundry. So, if I'm looking for this base rules set without becoming an alpha tester, which files do I get?

Morfedel
August 14th, 2013, 14:35