PDA

View Full Version : New GM - Deadlands

chipmafia
June 27th, 2013, 01:29
I went to purchase the Deadlands material, and saw there are several ways to do it. If I want to play a Deadlands game, what base materials do I need? Do I need both Marshalls and PHB mods?

Thanks for your help. I'm new to SW

phantomwhale
June 27th, 2013, 08:49
As a GM, you'll want to buy both books - buying the "Marshal's book" also gives you all the graphical updates and ruleset changes (e.g. Fate Chips, not bennies; Card table tool etc...).

As a player, you don't need to buy anything, although with the PHB you will have access to that library module when your NOT connected to a DL:Reloaded game, which means you can build characters using it (or just read stuff, etc...).

Hope that helps,
Ben (-PW-)

Doswelk
June 27th, 2013, 08:50
Hello welcome to Deadlands! :D

As a GM you will need the Savage Worlds Deluxe ruleset, the Deadland Marshal's Guide and the Deadland's Player Guide. This means your players do not need to buy anything (other than FGII unless you are running Ultimate)

This is all you NEED, but the rest of the Deadlands stuff for FGII adds the adventures and plot point campaigns (The Flood) into the mix, but like the books them not required.

Hope that helps.

<update>
Ah PW posted one minute before me! I'm too slow :(

:p

chipmafia
June 28th, 2013, 00:13
Thanks for the help. I've watched a couple of good tutorials on YouTube. I should be well on my way.

Davidj8886
June 30th, 2013, 03:32
Side question on this topic...

Is Deadlands: Reloaded just a wild west style setting or if not can it be used strictly as a wild west setting?

What types of things / extras does it add onto the original Savage Worlds Ruleset?

Thanks

S Ferguson
June 30th, 2013, 21:17
Side question on this topic...

Is Deadlands: Reloaded just a wild west style setting or if not can it be used strictly as a wild west setting?