PDA

View Full Version : Map I made for the old school Ziggurat mega dungeon Hidden Shrine of Tamoachan

Invictys
May 29th, 2013, 22:31
Please be gentle it's my first time lol!

I made this old school Gary Gygax AD&D mega dungeon of C1: The Hidden Shrine of Tamoachan after finding that they revamped it and converted it to 4e (Dungeon #209).

I used Photoshop for the whole thing and made heavy use of the tutorials as well as styles and pattern presets I got from Dr. Zuess at https://www.drzeuss.co.uk/ and the tutorials located here https://rpgvirtualtabletop.wikidot.com/tactical-mapping

I feel like they came out pretty well considering it's my first foray into mapping of any kind.

The objects are from the Dunkinni CUSAC as well as other publicly available art I shamelessly leeched =)

I took some liberties with some of it as i run a Dark Sun campaign so some of the things like dragons and octopus don't fit.

Even though I don't plan to make any changes to these maps feedback is welcome and appreciated. Enjoy!

For those that aren't familiar it's a Ziggurat/Pyramid style dungeon with the adventure actually beginning on the underground Tier 1 and they have to make their way out of the only exit at the top of the Ziggurat on Tier 3.

[I]Edit: the high res images aren't so high res after putting them on Photobucket, I'll put up a download link as soon as I add them to dropbox.

Tier1 Composite (low res for visualization only)

Tier 2

Tier 3

Tier 1 Left high res

Tier 1 Center high res

Tier 1 Right h

Trenloe
May 29th, 2013, 22:46
Wow! These are great. Are you sure it's your "first time"?? ;)

Invictys
May 29th, 2013, 22:53
Heh thanks, I have some small amount of familiarity with Photoshop but just basic stuff, the presets and tutorial from Dr. Zeuss are amazing I have to give most of the credit to him.

damned
May 30th, 2013, 01:53
nice job Invictys.

JohnD
May 30th, 2013, 02:15
Nice work. How long did it take?

Invictys
May 30th, 2013, 02:28