PDA

View Full Version : Graphics card problems

doc4221
April 9th, 2013, 19:44
Hello everyone, i am very new to all of this, so my apologies if i am not posting properly. i am very interested in Fantasy Grounds, and am trying to demo the software, but cannot get it to run. every time i install, then run the software, it locks up my machine. i believe it to be an issue with my nvidia card. i was hoping to see if anyone else has had problems running the software with an nvidia card, and if so, how did you resolve it. i have tried different drivers, old and new, but all crash when i launch the software. any guidance is appreciated!!!

MrSavaroth
April 9th, 2013, 19:53
Hello Doc,

I personally use an nvidia card as well and have no issues running fantasy grounds at all. What kind of card is it? Does the lockup require a hard reset? What OS are you running? I think if you post your system specs here, it might be easier for others to get an idea of what is going on.

Kind regards,

doc4221
April 9th, 2013, 20:12
thank you so much for getting back to me. i have a dell xps 400 running windows xp service pack 3. the graphics card is a geforce gt 610 with the most recent nvidia drivers. and yes, every time i run the program it locks up and i have to do a hard reset. i tried a few older drivers and it still locks up. i can get to the main screen, but when i launch the demo campaign, the load screen shows and then it locks. only a hard reset will work at that point.

Trenloe
April 9th, 2013, 20:35
Try updating your DirectX installation - web installer available from Microsoft here: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=35

doc4221
April 9th, 2013, 21:16