PDA

View Full Version : New modem = no connection

Fot5
February 25th, 2013, 01:43
My internet provider sent me a new modem this week. I also updated FGII (doubt this has anything to do with the problem, but I thought I'd mention it). Previously, I've been GMing a game for a few years, and have had no problems allowing players to connect. Since installing the new modem, I cannot get FGII to allow connections, and I cannot get a "pass" when I test the FGII connection test. I have a WRN2000 router which is has port forwarding set up , and the computer from which I GM is set up to have a static IP address. Other than this, I am having no other problems with my internet connection (with the exception of an archaic computer that will now no longer connect to the network).

Any thoughts on what might be going on?

Thanks in advance.

unerwünscht
February 25th, 2013, 02:30
Most modern modems are what the industry call 'smart modem gateways' they are a combo modem/router. It may be that you need to setup port forwarding in the modem as well. To do this correctly you would forward the port from the modem to the routers IP address and then from the router to your computers IP address. Or you can call tech support for the modem and have the 'smart features' turned off reverting it to a passive modem.

I hope that helps you. If it doesn't let us know what model the modem is, and I am sure one of us can figure it out.

Fot5
February 25th, 2013, 05:49
Thanks. You confirmed what I expected was the situation. The technical support person who I communicated with about the new modem didn't know anything about it, so I located the documentation online and was able to track down the new wireless connection through trial-and-error and then to confirm that the company had changed the default logon and password before sending the modem to me. The company said that they'll trade out the new modem for one that doesn't have a router built in.

Zeus
February 26th, 2013, 08:14