PDA

View Full Version : PFS Rule Question: Finding spellbooks or witch familiars in scenarios



lachancery
November 14th, 2012, 01:51
I'm sure this has been covered in a FAQ somewhere, but I couldn't find the answer in the PFS Organized Play PDF, so I figured I'd ask one of the gurus in our community:

If a party with a witch kills a NPC witch, the spells stored in the defeated witch's familiar can be transfered to the familiar of the PC witch (if succeeding the spellcraft roll) within 24 hours.

The same question could be asked about a PC Wizard defeating a Wizard NPC and finding his spell book.

What are the rules for "spell transfers" such as these during PFS scenarios?

Blackfoot
November 14th, 2012, 03:40
This pretty much explains it.

How can wizards, witches, magi, and alchemists learn new spells or formulae?

Pages 219Ė220 in the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook discuss how to handle a wizardís spellbook, but Pathfinder Society makes one adjustment to these rules: a wizard does not have to purchase a scroll found during the course of a scenario in order to copy that scroll into her spellbook. The wizard only needs to spend the time, succeed on the appropriate checks, and spend the amount of gold listed on the table on page 219 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook. Keep in mind that the process of copying a spell from a magic scroll into a wizardís spellbook removes the spell from the copied scroll, turning it into a blank piece of normal parchment. The normal rules for finding items during the course of a scenario are that they can be used during the scenario but must be purchased after the scenario in order to be kept. This clarification for wizards and their spellbooks is the singular exception to the gear rules. An alchemist can likewise copy spells from scrolls found during a scenario into his formula book as detailed on page 28 of the Advanced Player's Guide. Similarly, a witch PC's familiar can learn spells from another witch's familiar or from scrolls found during the course of a scenario, as detailed on page 68 of the Advanced Player's Guide. Magi follow the same rules in copying spells to their spellbooks as wizards in all ways save that they use the magus spell list to determine if they may learn a spell, instead of the sorcerer/wizard spell list. If a wizard, witch, magus, or alchemist PC is adventuring with another PC who could teach them a spell, those PCs may exchange spells on their own terms as long as they make the proper skill checks and their trading of arcane secrets does not interfere with the flow of the game, at the GM's discretion. If you don't find a scroll of a given spell during the course of an adventure, you have to buy the scroll to learn it. An NPC isn't just going to give you access to his spells for free, and purchasing a scroll of that spell represents the cost of gaining access to his spellbook. Any spell or formula learned must be accounted for on a scenario's Chronicle sheet in the "Conditions Gained" section.

You can find the FAQ here. (http://paizo.com/pathfinderSociety/faq)