PDA

View Full Version : Connectivity Suddenly Gone

tpkurilla
August 13th, 2012, 03:46
Greetings!

I've been using FGII for about 2 years now, and I've suddenly run into a problem. No one in my gaming group can connect to me.

Everything was fine when we quit last week, but when we tried to get going this week, nobody could connect.

First thing I tried was the external test with the server, and that comes back with "SUCCESS" instantly.

I've reset my router, we all upgraded to 2.9.1, and tried many other things, but nothing seems to work.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

-Thomas

Trenloe
August 13th, 2012, 03:57
Do your players use an alias or your IP address to connect to you?

tpkurilla
August 13th, 2012, 07:04
We've always used the 4-word alias to connect, but one of them tried to use the raw IP as well.

Neither one worked.

When he tried to use my raw IP, he noticed that the first octet was different from what we've always seen before. We have only ever seen '68' for the first octet, but now my first octet is '70'.

We have no trouble connecting for other games using Steam, but I have not tried hosting it on my computer.

I'm currently downloading the latest to install on my laptop to see if I have any better luck with it.

I can't shake the feeling that the change in my first octet is causing the trouble, but I don't know how I can test the theory.

Hopefully someone has seen this issue before, and can help us out.

-Thomas

damned
August 13th, 2012, 14:33
generate a new alias and it shoudl pick up your new ip...

Trenloe
August 13th, 2012, 15:04
That's worth a try, but I don't think that will be the cause - one of the main functions of using an alias is that it will allow players to connect using the same name each time, even if the GMs IP address changes a lot.