PDA

View Full Version : Favorite map maker

Claybot
July 19th, 2012, 18:45
What is the best map maker to use. I'm just starting out and wan to get things going. I see Dundjinni mentioned quite a bit, is this the best one?

wbcreighton
July 19th, 2012, 19:11
I can't list my favourite, but check out this thread for the free and easiest to use:

https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14877

My 4 year old and 6 year old use it to make maps. ( in minutes ). Good when you need something fast.

Trenloe
July 19th, 2012, 19:11
There are a few mentioned in this thread: https://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14750

Pyro's mapper (linked in wbcreighton's post above) is a good quick and easy, tile based mapper (free) - probably the easiest to get into and creates good maps, primarily for use as combat maps in Fantasy Grounds.

What is seen as the "best" is very subjective - a lot depends on how good you are artistically, a number of members on this forum do amazing maps in normal paint/graphics programs. It also depends on how much money you want to spend and how much time you are willing to take learning the program.

There are also a number of mapping programs out there. Personally, I use Campaign Cartographer 3 - it has a steep learning curve, but there are some great video tutorials to help. There are lots of expansions available - including a monthly release via their annual subscription. I'm terrible artistically, but I've managed to create a number of passable maps - some available here: https://www.cartographersguild.com/album.php?u=23781 Spoiler alert for anyone playing the Pathfinder Rise of the Runelords adventure path!

Dunjinni appears to be a similar type of mapping program to Campaign Cartographer - I've seen some lovely maps created with that too.

Zeus
July 19th, 2012, 19:15
There are lots of tools available; as for the best one, that I think is very much personal choice.

Broadly speaking the choices include: