PDA

View Full Version : Quick Newbie Qs

Drewwww
July 4th, 2012, 09:54
Hi all,

I am new to FG2 and also new to GMing and SW, so please bear with me if I ask dumb questions :)

I am about to start a new campaign with a few people, learning SW and using FG2. I have a pretty good grasp of the SW ruleset, but was wondering about how this is going to work with FG2. I have gone thru the FG2 tutorials but there was one Q I needed to know the answer to.

I realize that you need to purchase the SW ruleset to get this to play, and also I would need an ultimate license fror FG2 in order to host it. But does each player need to also purchase the SW ruleset, or just the hosting computer? I would like to be able to host the game with the SW ruleset and just have the players connect with unregistered versions to my game. Will that work?

Also, for those that have set up SW in the past, about how long does a campaign take to set up? I mean, the point of SW from the books I read is that it is fast and furious and fun, meaning it wont take long to set up before you play. But looking over the tutorials of FG2 it seems that there are a lot of things you need to do for setup (NPCs, maps, story, etc). So I am wondering from those of you with experience, about how long does it take in preparation for running a game? I am assuming about 8 full hours to prep, and doubling that for first time use and learning of the FG2 software... is that about right? Just looking for a ballpark number, really, as I have no idea.

Thanking you all in advance,
Drew

Doswelk
July 4th, 2012, 09:58
If you buy Ultimate and the SWEX ruleset then that is all you need.

The players connect to you and have access to the SWEX guide.

I do not tend to spend any prep time if I am running a published adventure/campaign setting if I have the FGII version (ignoring the fact I created most of them in the first place!)