PDA

View Full Version : Giving players control of an NPC

nezzir
June 18th, 2012, 02:29
I'm sure I just missed this somewhere. How can you give a player control of an NPC, so that it 'groups' with them in the combat tracker and they can control the particulars of it (equipment, rolls, etc.)? One of my players has a dog. I want him to control and maintain it, and I want it to go on his init during combat.

Edit: I don't seem to have the original ruleset documentation anymore, just the 'update' documentation.

Doswelk
June 18th, 2012, 08:27
To give access to the NPC sheet drag and drop the entry from personalities onto the character portrait to share the sheet with the player.

In combat drag the NPC sheet to the group button next to the PC you want to group the NPC with.

I did a video on the combat tracker a while back, the grouping option is around the 2 min mark.
ByQ80qAxrrI

phantomwhale
June 18th, 2012, 16:29
You can also add the dog as an "ally" on the character sheet - this gives the player a link to open the NPC any time they like.

That said, since SW 3.2 added the Personalities tool for players to see any shared NPCs any time they like, this section is a little redundant now, and probably only exists because there is an Allies section on the real world character sheet.

Certainly no-one has ever complained that Allies never got added to the Deadlands character sheet, so I took that as a strong indicator that it's not often needed / used :)

nezzir
June 18th, 2012, 16:59
Yes, thank you. The 'group' icon on the combat tracker is what I was missing.

scionofnyarlathotep
June 18th, 2012, 20:36
I've noticed that dragging an NPC that has had it's name changed, for example Gypsy being renamed Gypsy Sid, does not reflect when being dragged across to the tracker. Is this unavoidable?