PDA

View Full Version : New to Savage Worlds

Chris_Seal
April 23rd, 2012, 23:31
Hi all,

After many months of weighing up the options, I've decided to dive in a purchased a copy of SWD and of Interface Zero. I've run a few trial combats and am pretty happy with how the system runs so I'm looking forward to inflicting it on my players :).

I'd like to emulate the feel of old school CP2020, and with that in mind I'm thinking of making a couple of changes to the cybertrauma rules from Interface Zero.

Since I have no real experience running the game, I was hoping that I could get some feedback on my proposed rule changes to ensure that there are no obvious problems. As such I'd really appreciate any comments.

I'll be using the SWD Grim and Gritty damage rules rather than those presented in Interface Zero.

Cybertrauma. A cybertrauma roll is made whenever the character takes an injury to an area that has a cybernetic replacement only, not on a critical failure of a vigour test.

Bioware trauma. Bioware is different in that it is an integral part of the body, thus a bioware follows the standard cybertrauma rules set out in interface zero.

Cyberpsychosis. The act of implanting foreign objects within the human body has some strange, emotional and mental effects that can not be predicted. As more and more of the "meat" is replaced by "metal" a person becomes more and more divorced from society as a whole.

To represent cyberpsychosis, when a character gets a new implant they must make a spirit check to successfully integrate the new cyberware. Failing this check means the character gains the "Ghost in the machine" hindrance. If they already have the "Ghost in the machine" hindrance then they gain the "Bloodthirsty" hindrance.

If a character has both the "Ghost in the machine" and the "Bloodthirsty" hindrance and fails a cyberpsychosis check then they suffer a psychotic episode and attack the nearest living thing until subdued.