PDA

View Full Version : Interactive Mind-Map or Family Tree in FG2

Tubel
April 20th, 2012, 00:26
Hi Everyone,

I'm brand new to FG2 and I've been reaping the rich harvest of everyone's terrific knowledge on these boards as I set up my first FG campaign.

Anyway, I had a bit of an idea that I thought was pretty cool, so I thought I'd share it and try to give something back to the community, so to speak.

I am about to run a PFRPG campaign for my regular gaming group and was trying to get all the NPCs straight in my head. So I thought what I needed was a sort of family tree with links between all the families in the town etc. This idea lets me plot out complicated connections, keep the family histories of the NPCs together visually for quick reference, and facilitates the quick access to NPC profiles straight from the pictoral representation.

I've mocked up a dummy one here from a tiny part of the puzzle so you get the idea (I don't want to show the whole complicated picture because my crafty players trawl these boards - Blaen in particular the crafty devil!). It's very handy if you want to mind-map a lot of complicated connections in your scenario for easy access.

Basically I constructed the diagram using Visio (but you can use anything that can draw a line and a box really)
save as a jpeg or whatever
open the image in FG
right click > layers > enable shortcuts
drag the links from the NPC list onto your family tree (or mind map or whatever)

You can see in the screenshot that I have hovered over the link to Othal and clicking this will bring up his NPC entry strait from the diagram. This is exactly the same as linking story/encounter entries on a map of course, but I thought it was an interesting way to use this feature of FG differently. Hope others find this idea useful.

Valarian
April 20th, 2012, 12:41