PDA

View Full Version : Something Is Amiss with These Forums

PaxVeritas
April 6th, 2012, 16:37
Greetings all,
I am new to the FGII community but I've been playing since 1983. I've recently enjoyed 4 sessions of great vtt gaming here on FGII.

When I use these forums:
>The threads seem very old
>The community seems very small
>Communicaton with GMs running games seems difficult (based on not finding the threads that are asking for players)
>GMs who run games aren't posting clear time/date instructions
>Links to associated threads are not included in the Game Calendar, making it difficult to see what is available and also confirmed versus just speculative proposals to game
>When I sort the Game Calendar based on GMs who were "last on" there seem to be hardly any GMs running games---are GMs running games but not posting on the Game Calendar?
>The Threads as well as the Game Calendar seem to have interesting stuff appearing, but its years old

Please know that I am not criticizing, in fact, I love FGII, and the people I've met are very awesome! I think the tool is great!!! But, there seems to be a disconnect between a) wanting to play and b) finding a group. It should be much, much easier.

For example, if on a Saturday morning, someone has time and wishes to play, they should be able to find a GM with an open spot in their game.

For example, if on a Wednesday evening, a GM wishes to run a game, shouldn't it be possible to quickly post that to the boards and start playing... afterall the ratio of players to GMs should be about 8:1 or better.

Now, perhaps I'm viewing this all wrong... maybe FGII is primarily used by folks who already have RL friends and are using the tool privately, rather than publicly. This might explain why there only seem to be very few users, little activity on the messageboards, and few posts to the Game Calendar.

As a n00b to FGII, I welcome your insight. Again, its a wonderful game tool, and I'm looking to better understand the situation.