PDA

View Full Version : Slowing Down

KhybersGhost
April 3rd, 2012, 00:30
Wanted to ask around and see if anyone else has had this problem.

I've noticed that as time goes on, the client seems to get a bit slower. While our games are still able to function well enough, I notice that even when I initially load the module, the amount of time it takes has gradually increased. (Even getting a brief, 5-6 second "Program not responding" message before it finally loads)

For context, I've been playing a campaign with the same set of players for the last 5-6 months. I use a single "core/skeleton" module which essentially only contains the players characters and a handful of frequent use maps of the region. I export and use other adventure modules I've made for additional content.

I have closed most other non-essential modules (player resource modules and bestiaries etc) and have cleared previous data via the Flushdb command.

Curious if there is something else I am doing (or not doing) that might be causing this?

System is a quad-core 3.2ghz machine with 8gb, Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium

Trenloe
April 3rd, 2012, 00:40
Check the size of your DB.XML file in the campaign directory, it can get quite big over time. This contains a lot of entries.

I see PC entries in DB.XML getting quite large over time - purely because more and more "stuff" is being added to as the game goes on. Plus, if you have a few PCs in the campaign not being used, this increases the size of DB.XML quite a lot too.

Might be worth connecting on the same machine to localhost and then looking in the cache directory created and seeing what is the large things that are being downloaded.

madman
April 3rd, 2012, 01:03