PDA

View Full Version : Deadlands - what is needed?

calseeor
March 19th, 2012, 16:21
Hello all,
I'm new to using FG (just bought it yesterday) but I've been trolling the forums on and off for years. I'm thinking of running a deadlands game for some friends that are across the country from me but I have a few questions before I put more money into it. Sorry if these questions are answered elsewhere or seem like common knowledge:

As the DM, I need a full license of FG (which I have) and...the Deadlands Players AND Marshall guides, correct?
For my players - do they need to own their own copy of the players guide?
If they do not need their own copy of the players guide - I assume they will be able to make characters once they connect to my session, is that true?
When buying the FG addons (such as the deadlands books) will I as the GM, be able to read through the "books" or are they more like backend mechanics for FG rather than actual books?
And finally - I own the PDF printing of the Savage Worlds Core Rules from a few years ago. Now I see talk about a SWEX (explorers?). Do I need the explorers guide (in real life, not as a FG module) to be up to date with the Savage World version I got with FG?

Thanks all.
Regards,
--Eryk

Doswelk
March 19th, 2012, 18:23
Welcome! :D

As the DM, I need a full license of FG (which I have) and...the Deadlands Players AND Marshall guides, correct?
You also need the Savage Worlds Ruleset (Deadlands ruleset is an extension to that)

For my players - do they need to own their own copy of the players guide?
Nope - but owning the PDF version is helpful (to speed up character creation) but not necessary as the whole books are in the ruleset.

If they do not need their own copy of the players guide - I assume they will be able to make characters once they connect to my session, is that true?
Yes