PDA

View Full Version : LFG: I'm New To FGII.

PaxVeritas
March 14th, 2012, 18:04
After purchasing a full licence, I found myself unable to fully grasp the "Game Calendar" page of this Website to find a group to join.

I own Pathfinder supplement to Hero Lab, so I made up a character, and saw a post on the "Game Calendar" page for Pathfinder. I was lucky that the GM had an additional Website page referenced so I could contact him, but most do not. When I finally contacted him, he said the campaign ended long ago--yet the information was still showing as "looking for players" on the "Game Calendar" page.

I'm not sure why there are so few posting, and unsure how to actually contact the game master in most cases. A majority of the games listed do not specify the Time/Day they intend to play, nor note whether this is an old campaign or a new one.

I don't have a sense for the durations of the games, or what the norms are with the Fantasy Grounds community, so I'm looking through the forums here to learn more.

Its hard to figure out how "new-to-FG2" players might be treated. After 29 years of playing the game, I wish to avoid being treated poorly, as on mmorpg sites where NooBs are mistreated. In short, I'm sure I can take all the necessary steps to prepare, enlist, show up on time, and participate in the role-play, but the sign-up process is a little confusing, as without dates/times/expectations/expected character levels/Hero Lab expectations, or GM email address/website/external computer connection numbers, I'm not sure how to actually join a group that is active, nor how to confirm my character's spot in the gaming group for the session.

I will keep reading the forums, but if anyone has a moment, can they give a "NooB" a little guidance =)

Thanks,
PaxVeritas