PDA

View Full Version : I'm Australian and I am Interested in FG

Argol228
February 24th, 2012, 17:29
Hi, I am very interested in this system but when it comes to PnP I am an utter noob having grown up with Computer RPGs instead. I have always wanted to play PnP games but never had the friends that would be into it. again due to my friends and I growing up with PCs and consoles.

While I have a very flexible time schedule I wouldn't want to be up until 5am all the time for games.

I would probably need to be heavily guided for my first few times playing.

dr_venture
February 24th, 2012, 18:00
What's your GMT offset?

Have you played the older RPG-style "Knights Of The Old Republic" or "Neverwinter Nights" or "Baldur's Gate" games? The game mechanics in those games are *very* strongly based off of a couple of different versions of D&D - the main difference is that the whole process of the game is mostly automated. I'm sure there are other examples, but at least with those games in particular, if you jumped into a PnP version of the game, you'd find it very familiar.

I'm guessing that the transition to PnP won't be a difficult one - the main differences are just that combat time is broken into 'rounds' so that lots of actions and movements can be coordinated... and that in a PnP world you can do anything that you can imagine, not just what the software has been programmed for. You shouldn't have too much trouble adjusting, I would guess.

Argol228
February 24th, 2012, 18:47
What's your GMT offset?

Have you played the older RPG-style "Knights Of The Old Republic" or "Neverwinter Nights" or "Baldur's Gate" games? The game mechanics in those games are *very* strongly based off of a couple of different versions of D&D - the main difference is that the whole process of the game is mostly automated. I'm sure there are other examples, but at least with those games in particular, if you jumped into a PnP version of the game, you'd find it very familiar.