PDA

View Full Version : Advice for new player?

MrDeathNote
January 13th, 2012, 13:02
Hi guys, this is first time I've been on this board.

I'm fairly new to the whole table top rpg scene. I've played a bit of d&d and I'm currently reading through the player handbook. It's very hard to find d&d games in my area so I'm tempted to resort to the online route and join all you fine people. The main questions I have are, do you think this is the right place for me? Is it easy to find games here? Am I too old to start playing d&d (I'm 23)?

I've looked at some of the other noobie posts and although they are helpful they don't answer my exact questions. Since everyone else that I saw got some very helpful and insightful feedback I thought I'd post a few q's of my own.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Ram Tyr
January 13th, 2012, 13:16
This is the right place for anybody that wants to play rpgs and wants FG to make it happen. So, no worries, mate. (I'm not Australian but I play with some Aussies on FG.)

How easy it is to find games depends on a lot of factors... how flexible you are about play times, how flexible you are about playing different systems, how frequently you run games as the DM, GM, CK, or whatever your system of choice calls the guy behind the 'curtain'.

Sadly, you are too old, though.
Ok, not. You'll find a bunch of, ahem, folks older than you here playing games. Like me. If you want to play (and I don't think you would have found us here if you didn't) nobody will hold your youthful ways against you. :) So, just start looking for a game.