PDA

View Full Version : General Question :)

Retardednamerequired
December 3rd, 2011, 23:32
So i'm looking at DMing 3.5 and or 4th edition for my local group and to help me keep things straight i am looking at getting a VTT so i can have notes on maps that the players won't see etc etc. For the most part from what i can see FG2 is pretty good but without paying i can't really mess around with the map tools as i can't create a campaign.

Can anyone give me any info on limitations/functionality of the mapping tools? I'm hoping that i can make snap to grid maps and have fog of war or simply designate squares that party members cannot see unless i toggle something? I'm not an art expert so i don't exect things to look amazing but want to be able to make maps on a grid layout without too much hassle so i can easily dictate line of sight assuming it has functionality for that? Don't want people seeing the whole map without having to explore :)

damned
December 4th, 2011, 01:55
this is not a map making tool.
you make your maps elesewhere and import them in jpg or png format
battle maps and line of site and masking are all easy enough
it also does a good job of character sheets, combat tracking, story notes and other stuff

Trenloe
December 4th, 2011, 07:54
Can anyone give me any info on limitations/functionality of the mapping tools? I'm hoping that i can make snap to grid maps and have fog of war or simply designate squares that party members cannot see unless i toggle something? I'm not an art expert so i don't exect things to look amazing but want to be able to make maps on a grid layout without too much hassle so i can easily dictate line of sight assuming it has functionality for that? Don't want people seeing the whole map without having to explore :)